Parallella University Program Update

UniversityProgramWhen we created the Parallella project on Kickstarter two years ago, the goal was to democratize access to high performance computing. To accomplish this goal, we knew that we had to make the Parallella platform completely open and as affordable as possible.

2012 Parallella Kickstarter Promises:

  • Open Access: Absolutely no NDAs or special access needed! All architecture and SDK documents will be published on the web as soon as the Kickstarter project is funded.
  • Open Source: The Parallella platform will be based on free open source development tools and libraries. All board design files will be provided as open source once the Parallella boards are released.
  • Affordability: Hardware costs and SDK costs have always been a huge barrier to entry for developers looking to develop high performance applications. Our goal is to bring the Parallella high performance computer cost below $100, making it an affordable platform for all.”

Two years later, I can proudly say that we have finally delivered on our promises (although the minimum steady state price had to be raised to $119). As a result, the Parallella platform is now involved in research projects across the global, including:

Given the incredible enthusiasm across the board from professors and students, we expect tons of interesting publications to come out within the next 12 months. Some of the current academic efforts that we know about include:

  • Parallel programming education
  • Parallel algorithms
  • Parallel programming models/language research
  • Parallel debuggers
  • Parallel compilers
  • Network-On-Chips
  • Software Defined Radio
  • Robotics
  • Drones
  • Computer vision

Below is the list of universities currently participating in “PUP”. If you think your university should participate, make sure to sign up at


Andreas Olofsson

Adapteva & Parallella Founder


Heriot-Watt University (UNITED KINGDOM)
KTH -Royal Technical Institute (SWEDEN)
Lund University (SWEDEN)
National Technical University of Athens (GREECE)
Technical University of Catalonia (SPAIN)
University of Bath (UNITED KINGDOM)
University of Bologna (ITALY)
Universidad de Buenos Aires (ARGENTINA)
University of Edinburgh (UNITED KINGDOM)
University of Illinois (USA)
University of Tijuana (MEXICO)
Unviersité de Mons (BELGIUM)
University of Coimbra (PORTUGAL)
University of South Carolina (USA)
University of Tennessee (USA)
University of Zagreb (CROATIA)
The University of St. Andrews (UNITED KINGDOM)
Saint Louis University (USA)
National University of Mongolia (MONGOLIA)
University of Sunderland (UNITED KINGDOM)
Charles University in Prague (CZECH REPUBLIC)
Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NORWAY)
Institute of Neuroinformatics, University of Zurich and ETH Zurich (SWITZERLAND)
École Polytechnique de Montréal (CANADA)
Shanghai Jiao Tong University (CHINA)
CSU Sacramento (USA)
University of Ioannina (GREECE)
Paulista State University – UNESP (BRAZIL)
San Jose State University (USA)
University of Amsterdam (NETHERLANDS)
University of Lisbon (PORTUGAL)
University of Copenhagen (DENMARK)
Universidad Austral (ARGENTINA)
B V Bhoomaraddi College of Engineering and Technology (INDIA)
Halmstad University (SWEDEN)
University of California, San Diego (USA)
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (SWITZERLAND)
Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics (GERMANY)
Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (GREECE)
University of Modena (ITALY)
Universidad Industrial de Santander (COLOMBIA)
University of York (UNITED KINGDOM)
UC Berkeley (USA)
Queen’s University Belfast (UNITED KINGDOM)
Concordia University (CANADA)
Kazimierz Wielki University (POLAND)
Georgia Institue of Technology (USA)
University of Debrecen (HUNGARY)
AGH University of Science and Tech (POLAND)
Indiana University (USA)
University of Luebeck (GERMANY)
Iyeditepe University (TURKEY)
Warsaw University of Technology (POLAND)
Texas State Technical College – Waco (USA)
University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus (MALAYSIA)
California State University Long Beach (USA)
Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (GREECE)
University OF Pannonia (HUNGARY)
M.S. Ramaiah Institute of Technology (INDIA)
University of Passau (GERMANY)
University of Zagreb (CROATIA)
Universitat Autonoma of Barcelona (SPAIN)
“Ovidius” University of Contanta (ROMANIA)
University of Santiago de Compostela (SPAIN)
Institute of Space Technology (IST) (PAKISTAN)
Ruhr-Universitaet Bochum (GERMANY)
University of Cape Town (SOUTH AFRICA)
University of Miskolc (HUNGARY)
University of Peradeniya (SRI LANKA)
University of Nevada Las Vegas (USA)
Nanyang Technological University (SINGAPORE)
Queen Mary University of London (UNITED KINGDOM)
Universidad Mayor (CHILE)
Federal University of Uberlandia (BRAZIL)
University of Sarajevo (BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA)
Rice University (USA)
Technion – Israel Institute of Technology (ISRAEL)
Univ. Erlangen-Nürnberg (GERMANY)
University of Manitoba (CANADA)
University of Copenhagen, Denmark (DENMARK)
University of Buenos Aires (ARGENTINA)
Universidad Nacional de La Plata (ARGENTINA)
Technische Universität Chemnitz (GERMANY)

Leave a Reply